SCU Signs a Cooperation Agreement with Jagiellonian University


On December 4th, the President of Jagiellonian University Wojciech Novak, and the Consul General Kasha of the Consulate of Poland in Chengdu, along with the delegation, visited SCU. President Li Yanrong met  the visiting guests. Vice President Yan Shijing and the heads of relevant departments joined the meeting.

President Li said at the meeting that, Jagiellonian University has a long history and a good reputation in the world, and has cultivated a large number of well-known alumni. As one of its important steps to enhance its strength and influence, Sichuan University is accelerating the pace of building a world-class university in an all-round way. After signing of this cooperation agreement, both institutions will further strengthen cooperation on student exchanges and teacher exchange visits, etc.

Mr. Wojciech Novak congratulated the signing of the cooperation agreement. Jagiellonian University always underlines the importance of internationalization strategy and actively promotes exchanges and cooperation with world-renowned universities, he noted. The signing of the cooperation agreement marks a more solid step to the cooperation between both institutions. He hoped that the cooperation between the two institutions could achieve more fruitful results.

Later on, both presidents signed a memorandum of cooperation and an exchange agreement on behalf of the two institutions.

Introduction to Jagiellonian University

Founded in 1364, Jagiellonian University is one of the oldest universities in the world, and also one of the most prestigious universities in Poland. As one of the largest universities in Central Europe, Jagiellonian University has 16 departments, over 80 disciplines and 140 majors, and has established more than 200 bilateral agreements and 1,400 Erasmu+ exchange programs. Being a member of several alliances and associations, it boasts several world-class research centers such as the Lesser Poland Biotechnology Center, the National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center, and the Copernicus Interdisciplinary Research Center.