The International Development Strategy Advisory Board of SCU Established

On Sept. 28th 2016, the 1st Conference of the International Development Strategy Advisory Board of SCU was solemnly held in SCU. The Conference was hosted by Prof. Yan Shijing, General-secretary of the Board. “This is a significant moment that will be recorded in the development history of SCU!” Academician Xie Heping, President of SCU addressed Conference.
The Conference announced the members of the First Board, including a total of 53 famous scientists, educationists, celebrities and entrepreneurs. President Xie issued letters of appointment to the honorary chairmen and directors of the Board.
During the Conference, 29 representatives had a hot discussion on the theme of “building a world-class university” proposed by President Xie Heping and the construction of three major international platforms. They offered valuable advice and suggestions for this goal. President Xie noted that, I sincerely hope you can, through this Board--an international high-end think tank platform, continuously care about and support SCU’ development, join hands with us to solve the development problems encountered in different periods, and contribute to build SCU into a world-class university.
In 2016, SCU was listed as one of the first batch of Innovation and Entrepreneurship Demonstration Bases by the State Council. On the eve of its 120th founding anniversary, SCU has signed strategic cooperation agreements of jointly building a world-class university with Chengdu Municipal People’s Government and Sichuan Provincial People’s Government, respectively, turning a new leaf for “building a world-class university with concerted efforts of the provincial, municipal governments and the University”. To accelerate the pace of building SCU into a world-class university, and make its construction and development match better the world, the humankind and the future, it’s very necessary to learn and draw experience of the first-class university at home and abroad. Thus, SCU initiated the International Development Strategy Advisory Board, whereby the elites from the sectors of politics, field, academics and business all over the world are invited to jointly offer their consultations and suggestions for SCU’s development. The Board will hold a conference annually, to put forward comments and suggestions on SCU’s major development planning, strategic planning and major policy-decision matters as well as recommendation of leading talents in academic researches.
President Xie expressed his hope that SCU, as a high-end think tank platform, should be able of cultivating talented graduates who have global competence and are capable of tackling future challenges; be able of generating new ideas, new knowledge and new theories that drive the progress of the world and mankind; be able of continuously creating core technologies for strategic industries that may catalyze national and social growth. And the establishment of the Board has laid a foundation for moving forward to this goal.
Introduction to the board members:
The first board specially invited Chen Changzhi, Vice Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, Zhang Meiying, Former Vice Chairman of CPPCC National Committee, and Dai Bingguo, Former State Councilor, to serve as Honorary Chairmen. President Xie Heping serves as the Chairman of the Board.
The Board includes a total of 53 world famous scientists, world-renowned university presidents, international and domestic politicians and world famous entrepreneurs, among them, 17 are world-renowned scholars, including Samuel Chao Chung Ting, the Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics of the MIT, Jack Szostak, Nobel Prize Laureate in Physiology or Medicine of Harvard University, Alan Macfarlane, Professor of Cambridge University’s Social Anthropology and Fellow of British Academy, Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Fellow of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and Prof. of Carnegie Mellon University, etc.; 19 are famous educationists, including Keith Gull, Principal of St Edmund Hall, Oxford and Fellow of the Academy of Medical Science of the UK, Yao Liang, Emeritus Professor and Life Fellow of Gonville and Caius College of Cambridge, Chul B. Park, Fellow of the Canadian Royal Society and the Academy of Engineering, and Professor of the University of Toronto, MengLiqiu, Prof. and Former Executive Vice President of Technical University of Munich, Timothy W. Tong, President of Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Zhang Jiayi, President of Tamkang University, Taiwan, Lin Jianhua, President of Peking University, and Qiu Yong, President of Tsinghua University, etc.; 10 famous well-known social activists, including Lidia Brito, Director of Latin America and the Caribbean Office of UNESCO, Ameenah Gurib-Fakim, Current President of Mauritius, Han Seung-soo, Former Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea, Zhang Zhongwei, Former Governor of Sichuan Province, etc.; and seven famous entrepreneurs, including Liu Ruyin, CEO of CheerLand Investment Group, Chen Dongshen, Chairman of Taikang Life Insurance Co., Ltd., Li Li, Chairman of Shenzhen Hepalink Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., Li Ping, Chairman of Beijing Kyland Technology Co., Ltd., etc.